Routinely …..ruined

I can’t write anymore.  It’s the library’s fault.  Really.  How ironic is it that a library has actually stopped someone from writing?

Perhaps I should explain.

I typically stopped at the Central Branch of the library when I wanted to work on my blog.  I stopped on my way home from work, because it is in a pretty convenient place considering my drive home.  Writing there allowed me to focus a little better, because I only had the blog to think about while I was there.  No food distractions calling to me (no Doritos allowed in the computer areas), nor deciding what music to play (a quick Pandora smooth jazz if I wanted any sound).  Very importantly, there was no 16 lb orange and white tabby cuddle muffin who wanted attention or petting.  While occasionally there were distractions of noisy teens, or the person next to me needing librarian assistance (why are the librarians the loudest talkers in the library?!), it was generally a good place to go.  On top of that, stopping by after work and before I got to the apartment meant I wasn’t tempted to take a walk, go to sleep, go out to eat…but kept me on a short time leash since I needed to write and then go home and do those other things.

258s

But I can’t now.  The Central Branch library is undergoing a renovation and is closed for three or four months (I wonder about that.  Renovations always take more time than you expect).  I could go to the next closest East Columbia branch, but it is not the same.  It is harder to get to coming home from work from a traffic standpoint.  It is much louder, and has a less desirable layout (which contributes to the noise issue).  The rhythm that I was in is now disrupted, thrown asunder by the renovation.

Yes, I know.  First world problem for sure!  Still, it IS a change in routine, and just when I was getting better at setting aside time to blog.  I know I’m not going to give this up for the four or five months of the change, but it does mean that I have to figure out how to manage this new challenge.  At least now I realize the change, and realize that I need to slog through on the blog if I still want to write.  And I DO want to write, at least based on the piles of clippings and ideas I still have hanging around in the apartment.

So this is the first blog of the new location.  No different to you.  But pretty different to me.

Onward 🙂

#HoCoBlogs

 

 

 

One response to this post.

  1. […] shared previously on how I tend to use the library for blogging, and how the renovation of the Central Branch has forced me to change my routine. I adapted to that change better in June and July than I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

