Meeting, and…..

Introductions are awkward.  I never really know what to do, how to act.  Good impressions….you know that first impressions always last, even if you learn more and differently over time, because that first impression is imprinted in that memory and that feeling.  It’s worse, because I get anxious about good impressions on BOTH sides of the line.

Relationships are hard too.Will it work out?  Will there be a connection?  Is it a flash-in-the-pan or will it survive the NRE phase (new-relationship energy) and become a real connection? What if you’re seeing a bad mood day?  What if it’s a bad mood day for me?  What if it’s an overly upbeat mood day, for either of us?  Does that color the development of the relationship?  What will the rest of the days be like?  And even if this is a normal day for both, how do things work when either of you are sick, or traveling and away, or dealing with holidays?

Maybe it’s not worth it.  Maybe I should just toss in the towel.

Who am I kidding. I know I want it.  The last live-in was awesome.  Way too short but amazingly wonderful and loving and affirming.  Yes, I know, the next one won’t be the same, couldn’t be the same, and I shouldn’t expect it to be the same.  I have to let it develop in its own time, in its own way, become wonderful in its own special beauty.

So….I’ve decided to do it.  Put in the paperwork.  Made a decision both to do it, looked at the pictures and decided who I wanted.  Now to sit back and wait for the call.  And to prepare.  So much to do…clean the place, put things up, get the litter box, toys, carrier.  Orange and white tabby, 8 years old, 14 lbs.

What did you think I was talking about? 😉

One response to this post.

  1. […] had Benny for a year now.  I got him at the very end of July last year, after a long couple of years of searching.  I had been spoiled by my girlfriends two cats when […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

