Journal Junkie

I’m reminded of that memorable scene from “Mr. Mom” (hmmm…yes, yes, yes,, a very dated reference to a movie I know, but bear with me). The Father is trying to convince the son to give up his woobie, his special blanket. He warns him “I understand that you little guys start out with your woobies and you think they’re great… and they are, they are terrific. But pretty soon, a woobie isn’t enough. You’re out on the street trying to score an electric blanket, or maybe a quilt. And the next thing you know, you’re strung out on bedspreads. That’s serious.”

woobie

image from famouscenes.com

I get it
I’m a journal junkie.
I’m not sure how I got here. For someone who blogs, I find it amazingly soothing, helpful and creative to pick up pen and paper, and to write instead of typing.
It was my 7-year-old daughter who started me. She gave me an old journal of hers to use when we went out, so I’d have something to do when she wrote in her journal. I didn’t want to lose that one, so I had another when I traveled. I thought it would be helpful to put my faith walk thoughts into a separate one (or two :-/). A year later, when my daughter separated from me, she gave me another one. I couldn’t use it for more than a couple of time because it reminded me she was gone from my life, so I got another one. Then I got one that I dedicated to the special events, joys, and gratitudes in my life, along with some of the  answered prayers. The one I have now was given by a girlfriend on my last birthday before we split up.  I carry it everywhere when I go out to eat, just in case inspiration hits me. All used, all in use, all to be used.
Really, I do need them all…
….seriously.

(sigh)
Hi.

I’m Jeff.

I’m a journal junkie

Hi Jeff!

4 responses to this post.

  1. I am too. There is something magical and healing about putting pen to paper.

    Reply

  2. […] challenges is habit and technology.  I really prefer to write when I write.  To put pen to paper in a nice journal in a friendly setting and let my thoughts pour forth.  But if I do that, then I need to transfer […]

    Reply

  3. Posted by Fernanda on June 18, 2016 at 3:18 pm

    ♡ I love journaling!

    Reply

  4. You speak my language. Currently, I have a journal for thoughts on faith and scripture and another journal I dedicate to writing just for my son. I try to keep a separate one for any special trip I take, too…it really helps me remember all the unique details of the day. Thanks for the post (I love Mr. Mom, myself) 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

