Care and Shutdown

So day two of the government shutdown is winding down, and there is no end in sight of the hard line rhetoric and grandstanding by the parties involved.  I agree with those that quote Shakespeare about a pox on both their houses…. both Republicans and Democrats, as well as President and Congress.  Neither shows the vaguest levels of leadership in addressing this.

Image

Interestingly, or perhaps ironically,  the issue of affordable care (notice, that is in the lower case) was driven home to me yesterday.  I ended up the ER that afternoon, victim once again of nasty kidney stones (they give me a whole new appreciation for what women go through in childbirth, let me tell you).  The hospital was good, quick, modern, competent.  Within an hour of arrival I was being pumped full of fluids and pain killers.  In five hours, I had been examined, tested, and discharged.  I picked up my prescription with no problem.  Oh, by the way, I have a good employer and good insurance.

I had a friend who went to the urgent care center that same day.  The wait was longer, the results less definitive, the prescription unfilled due to cost.  My friend is underemployed, and will be one of the millions helped by Affordable Care (the law).  The differences in our experiences are substantial.  I am very thankful for my job, and my insurance. 

I think my friend deserves that care too.  And so while some discussion and modification of the law might be needed, the law per se needs to exist.  For my friend and all those who need it.

 

Leave a Reply

